Kjell Westö

Awards and acknowledgements


Kjell Westö has received several prestigious awards and acknowledgements. He has been nominated for the Finlandia Prize in 1989 (Utslag), 2000 (Vådan av att vara Skrake), 2002 (Lang) and 2013 (Hägring 38). He won the prize in 2006 for Där vi en gång gått.

Westö has also been nominated for the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2001 (Vådan av att vara Skrake) and 2003 (Lang). He received the Nordic Council Literature Prize in 2014 for Hägring 38. The same year he received the Swedish Radio Novel Prize for Hägring 38 and two more awards from Sweden – the Aniara Prize and The Nine Society’s Grand Prize – for his entire literary oeuvre. The Society of Swedish Literature in Finland has awarded Westö in 1987, 1990, 1997, 2001, 2007, 2010, 2014 and 2018, when Westö received their most prestigious award the Karl Emil Tollanders prize.